English Language Enhancement Course: Preparation for IELTS (For Master Programme Students of Lingnan University)

Programmes Objective

This course targets postgraduate candidates who have reached an IELTS overall band score of 6.0 or equivalent.  It is intended to stretch stronger students and enhance their language skills overall to prepare themselves for their postgraduate studies.  It adopts a communicative learning approach with a strong emphasis on practice.

This course aims to advance students’ academic English through intensive practices in an interactive English learning environment.  It also helps prepare students for their postgraduate studies in Hong Kong.

Learning Outcomes

The successful completion of this course indicates that you, the learner, have reliably demonstrated through successful examinations and assignments the ability to:
  • identify opinions and attitudes, and state purposes of speakers;
  • develop an argument, understand inferences and implied meaning;
  • speak at length on a given topic using appropriate language and organising ideas coherently;
  • express and justify opinions, and analyse, discuss and speculate about issues;
  • read academic journal articles efficiently and identify the main points to make a valid critique of the ideas suggested;
  • write a well-grounded discursive or opinion essay with real evidence paraphrased;
  • listen for main ideas, specific factual information, attitude and speakers’ opinion; and
  • actualize their academic English language skills and gain satisfactory scores from the listening, speaking, reading and writing assessments.

Programme Content

Course Commencement :

Schedule for ELE Class 2206 (45-hour) 
 
Lesson Date Time Venue
1 3 Oct 2022 (Mon) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm
 
LCH (TBC) 
 
2 7 Oct 2022 (Fri) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
3 8 Oct 2022 (Sat) 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
4 10 Oct 2022 (Mon) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
5 14 Oct 2022 (Fri) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
6 15 Oct 2022 (Sat) 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
7 17 Oct 2022 (Mon) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
8 21 Oct 2022 (Fri) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
9 22 Oct 2022 (Sat) 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
10 24 Oct 2022 (Mon) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
11 28 Oct 2022 (Fri) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
12 29 Oct 2022 (Sat) 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
13 31 Oct 2022 (Mon) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
14 4 Nov 2022 (Fri) 6:30 pm – 9:30 pm LCH (TBC) 
 
15 5 Nov 2022 (Sat) 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm LCH (TBC) 
Final Exam
 
 
     Remark: All Saturday sessions are scheduled in the afternoon instead of the evening.

Venue

Lau Chung Him BuildingLingnan University

Fee

HK$6,500 (45 hours); 
HK$2,200 (15 hours); 
HK$890 (SET)

Admission Requirement

  • Master Programme Students of Lingnan University
  • IELTS score of 6.0 or equivalent

Completion Requirement

At least 80% attendance and a pass in assessments